How do I delete my account and personal data on edX?
You may request that your edX account and data be deleted by clicking Delete my account in your edX account settings.
Deletion of your account and personal data is permanent and cannot be undone. EdX will not be able to recover your account or the data that is deleted. Any certificates earned will be deleted.
It also will not be possible to open a new edX account with the same email address or username.
How do I delete my account and personal data on edX if my edX account is linked to a social media account (e.g., Facebook or Google)?
First, follow the instructions for unlinking your edX account from the associated Social account.
Second, because we require a password to authorize account deletion, follow the instructions for resetting your password to create a separate password for your edX account.
Third, request that your edX account and data be deleted by clicking Delete my account in your edX account settings and provide your password when prompted.
What happens when my account is deleted?
Can my account be retrieved after I delete it?
Deleting your edX account is a permanent action that cannot be reversed. EdX will not be able to recover your account or the data that is deleted. You will no longer be able to use your account to take courses on the edX app, edx.org, or any other site hosted by edX. This includes access to edx.org from your employer’s or university’s system and access to private sites offered by MIT Open Learning, Wharton Online, and Harvard Medical School.
After clicking “Delete my account” is my account immediately deleted?
Account deletion, including removal from email lists, may take a few weeks to fully process through our system. If you want to opt-out of emails before then, please unsubscribe from the footer of any email. (Despite this processing period, account and data deletion is still permanent, so your account and data will not be able to be recovered once you’ve submitted a deletion request.)
What happens to my certificates if I delete my account?
You will lose access to verified certificates and other program credentials like MicroMasters certificates. If you want to make a copy of these for your records before proceeding with deletion, follow the instructions for printing or downloading a certificate.
Can I create a new account if I change my mind?
You are always welcome back to continue learning at edX. Due to the fact that your previous account has been permanently deleted, you will need to start fresh with a brand-new account. You will not be able to use the same email or username for your new account.
What if I do not have an account but provided edX with my contact details for information on its courses, programs, news, and related products and services OR specific courses or programs? To start the deletion process, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org from the same email address you provided to receive such information.